Early Years Foundation Stage

The (EYFS) Early Years Foundation Stage really covers all that I do with the children, including regular routines, planned and unplanned activities and includes group experiences. I plan to provide varied and stimulating activities according to individual needs and preferences and to use spontaneous opportunities as they arise.


As a childminder, working in a home environment, I have the flexibility to use and value such events as the birth of a new baby in the family, changes in the weather and interests developing from new books or items brought in by the minded children.


I am able to take advantage of local events, to visit places of special interest, and I aim to offer the children in my care a wide range of experiences.


The EYFS is from birth to 31st August after their 5th birthday, with children progressing through the seven Areas of Learning and Development. I aim to plan a flexible curriculum, supported in accordance with the Early Years Foundation Stage and to provide learning opportunities within these Seven Areas of Learning, these being:


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

  • Communication and Language.

  • Literacy.

  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy.

  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World.

  • Physical Development.

  • Expressive Art and Design.


I use a secure online tool to collate each child’s development. Parents will be provided with their own personal log on and are welcome to view and discuss their child’s learning journal.